The Angel was the last great coaching inn of the Great North Road, approaching the City of London.If arriving at dusk it was advisable to lodge for the night, for one’s own safety, rather than travel the short distance into the City.Near the timbers, late Mesolithic stone tools, including a fine tranchet adze (a woodworking tool), were also discovered, as well as slightly later Neolithic pottery of two distinct types.The area may have been a significant, named place continuing through centuries or even millennia.In 1899 The Angel was rebuilt again as a Lyons Corner House, and since 1981 it’s been the Co-Op Bank. John Street Mentioned as early as 1170, St John Street was the start of the main route north, out of the City, from Smithfield.Famously lined by taverns up to The Angel, nowadays the Old Red Lion is the only one remaining, having been rebuilt in 1899 on the site of an inn dating back to 1415.During a foreshore survey in spring of 2010, archaeologists found six timber piles of up to 0.3 metres in diameter.
Close by would have been the Round Pond, which is where the fresh water, man-made New River terminated.The water flowed through a man-made channel into the New River Head at Round Pond, from where wooden pipes carried the water into subscriber’s houses.The New Rivers purpose was permanently abandoned only in 1946.) to discover London’s oldest structure on the foreshore of the Thames just metres from the MI6 building in Vauxhall.
Details of one of the most significant ever foreshore finds have just been revealed in the latest issue of the London Archaeologist, published on the 5th January 2011.
It is only 600 metres downstream from the Bronze Age timber-built bridge or jetty (c. Archaeologists from the Thames Discovery Programme made the discovery as they investigated the area as part of a continuing project to record archaeological and historical remains on the foreshore.